Home / Blog / Feis Shligigh and Sligo Feis Ceoil 2017 Scholarship Winners

Feis Shligigh and Sligo Feis Ceoil 2017 Scholarship Winners

Feis Shligigh 2017 concluded on Wednesday 12th April with the Catherine Devaney Memorial Scholarship in the Drama section.  The recipient of the Catherine Devaney scholarship through Feis Shligigh to StageWise 2017 is Joy Feehily.

The Catherine Devaney Memorial Scholarship, sponsored by Coolera Dramatic Society, is awarded annually to the most promising competitor between 14 – 18 years. Each year, at least six candidates are selected by the adjudicator from performances presented at the Feis.

Each candidate had a five-minute performance and was required to:
A. Perform a scene from a play of literary merit that has not been performed by the competitor at this year’s Feis.
B. Give a short introduction to the scene.
C. Have a brief conversation with the adjudicator.

Congratulations to everyone involved with Feis Shligigh participants, the many families, and teachers that make it such a success.

The Drama adjudicator in her closing remarks on Wednesday night commented on the lovely atmosphere at Feis Shligigh. She added that  “while very competitive, and the standard overall was very high, it was particularly nice to see how supportive participants were of each other and how delighted they were for other contestants when they did well.”

Sligo Feis Ceoil also took place in April. The two scholarship recipients from Sligo Feis Ceoil to Stagewise 2017 is Eve Lunn and Cian Burns. Ourselves, StageWise sponsors one of the sponsorship, and Sligo Tourist Development Association sponsored the other.

We look forward to seeing Joy, Eve and Cian at StageWise 2017 in July.